x
Yes No
Do you want to visit DriveHQ English website?
Forum Index \ DriveHQ Customer Support Forum \
Read/Reply : 19879/1
Hi, I am a photographer. I have about 100GB of photos taken in the last 4 years. I have backed up those photos to CDs, DVDs and USB drives. As I have a small content publishing business, these photos are very important to me. Your online backup service has lots of advantages over my current backup. I will keep backing up my files locally; but I have also signed up your premium service. I use FileManager to upload files; I also use WWWBackup to create scheduled automatic tasks. Now the problem is: when I change a USB drive, the drive letter changes sometimes, thus WWWBackup cannot find the source folder. I don't want to recreate the backup task as it could take a long time to backup again... what shall I do?

12/20/2006 1:52:26 PM

Hi, thank you reporting this problem to us. The current version of WWWBackup was not designed to backup USB drives. However, it should have no problem backing up a USB drive. The only problem is as mentioned in your message: the drive letter could change, esp. if you have multiple portable drives, and if you plug & unplug very often.

Now please note:

(1) DriveHQ can skip file upload / download if the files are the same in the source folder and destination folder. So even if you re-create a backup task, as long as the task name and source / destimation folders remain the same, it won't upload all files again. It does take a while to compare files for any changes.

(2) You can manually re-assign a drive letter to a USB drive. Please make sure no files are open in the USB drive. You can then click right-click on My Computer and select Manage. It should open Computer Management window.

Select "Disk Management" in the left-hand side. Right click on a drive letter and select "Change Drive Letter and Path". You can change the USB source drive to the original drive letter when you created the backup task.